Sports people in New Year Honours list

The Queen has announced those individuals who have been honoured in her 2011 New Year honours list. The following people have a connection with sport.

Knights Bachelor

Sir Stephen Bubb - Chief Executive, Association of Chief Executives of Voluntary Organisations. For services to the Voluntary Sector

Order of the British Empire

Commanders of the Order of the British Empire  

Francis Baron CBE - Lately Chief Executive, Rugby Football Union. For services to Sport
Joe Brown CBE - For services to Rock Climbing and to Mountaineering
George Kerr CBE - For services to Judo
Wayne McGregor CBE - Choreographer. For services to Dance

Officers of the Order of the British Empire

Kevan Baker OBE - Chairman of WheelPower. For voluntary service to Disability Sports                                            
Gerald Balding OBE - For services to Horse Racing
Mark Bensted OBE - Lately London Director, British Waterways. For services to the Marine Industry
Michael Catt OBE - For services to Rugby
Mrs Ann Cutcliffe OBE - For services to Para Equestrian Sport
John De Quidt OBE - Lately Chief Executive, Football Licensing Authority. For services to Sport  
James Gale OBE - For services to the Horseracing Industry
Ms Marian Holmes OBE - Chief Executive, Civil Service Sports Council
Ms Susan Hoyle OBE - For services to Contemporary Dance
Richard Langford OBE - For services to Sailing and to Windsurfing
Patrick Print OBE - Lately Chairman, British Horse Society. For services to Equestrianism
Ronald Watt OBE - For services to Karate  

Members of the Order of the British Empire

Mrs Joyce Andrews MBE - For voluntary service to Wimbledon and Merton Swimming Club
Thomas Attenburgh MBE - For voluntary service to the Scouts in Edinburgh
Miss Norma Blaine MBE - For services to Athletics
Mrs Mary Bromiley MBE - Equine Physiotherapist. For services to Equestrian Sport
Mrs Elizabeth Broomhead MBE - For voluntary service to Netball
Mrs Marie Collins MBE - For voluntary service to Sport in Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
Malcolm Danby MBE - For voluntary service to School Football in Teesside
Lt Cdr Donald Davies MBE RN (Retd) - For voluntary service to the Sea Cadet Corps
Paul Davies MBE - For services to Wheelchair Rugby  
Mrs Margaret Douglas MBE - For voluntary service to the Riding Group for the Disabled, South Hams
Mrs Susan Dudley-Smith MBE - For services to the Riding for Disabled Association and to the community in Thorganby, North Yorkshire
Mrs Isabella Edgar MBE - For voluntary service to Highland and Scottish Country Dancing
Terence Farley MBE - For services to Football Referees
Raymond French MBE - For services to Rugby League 
Mrs Sylvia Grice MBE - For services to Swimming and to the community in Ripon, North Yorkshire
Phillip Harrison MBE - For services to the British Sub Aqua Club 
Mrs Morag Hart MBE JP DL - For voluntary service to Girlguiding in Scotland
Martyn Hastings MBE - For services to the Duke of Edinburgh Award Scheme in Dorset and Kenya
Miss Sheila Hill MBE - For services to Women’s Cricket
Robert Jackson MBE -  For voluntary service to Cricket in the North East
Mrs Linda Jasper MBE - Founder and Director, Youth Dance England. For services to Dance
Ivor Jess MBE - For services to Disability Sport in Northern Ireland
Ms Jennifer Leyland MBE - For services to Grass Roots Football in Merseyside
Keith Mansell MBE - For services to Gliding
Dr David Marsh MBE -  For voluntary service to Amateur Golf 
Mrs Phyllis Martyn MBE - For services to St John Ambulance and to the community in Ilfracombe, Devon
Graeme McDowell MBE - For services to Golf
James McIlroy MBE - For services to Football and to Charity
Miss Eileen Meacock MBE - Founder, Richmond Academy of Dance. For services to Dance
Dr Tracey Menzies MBE - For services to Women’s Hockey
Aslie Pitter MBE - For voluntary service to Stonewall Football Club
John Plain MBE - For services to Athletics
Frederick Shaw MBE - For voluntary service to Boxing and to the community in Alderney, Channel Islands
Eric Thomson MBE - For voluntary service to Sport in Haslemere, Surrey
Peter Walker MBE - For services to Cricket
Howard Webb MBE - Referee. For services to Football